Douglas vs Endy vs Silk & Snow: 2026 Canada Comparison
Mattress comparison · Canada · Updated August 2026
Douglas vs Endy vs Silk & Snow (2026)
Three of Canada's best known mattresses, compared on price, trial, warranty and construction. Two of them share an owner. The comparison you will find everywhere else was written by the third one's parent company.
The short answer
Douglas is the cheapest at $799 CAD for a queen, its regular price when we re-checked on 22 September 2026; it was $599 CAD in an August sale. Endy is $895 CAD. Silk & Snow starts at $1,010 CAD. All three offer a 365 night trial, which is three times longer than ours. The three are not the same kind of mattress: Douglas and Endy are foam, Silk & Snow is a hybrid with coils.
- Cheapest queen: Douglas at $799 CAD (re-checked 22 September 2026)
- Mid price foam: Endy at $895 CAD, with per size prices published openly
- The only hybrid of the three: Silk & Snow, 1,000 pocket coils in a queen
- The ownership nobody mentions: Endy and Silk & Snow are both owned by Sleep Country Canada. Douglas is owned by GoodMorning.com Inc
All prices are queen size in Canadian dollars, read directly from each brand's own product page on 4 August 2026. All three brands promote frequently and Douglas was on sale when we checked. We re-checked Douglas and Endy on 22 September 2026: Douglas was back at its $799 CAD list price and Endy was unchanged at $895 CAD.
What this page covers
The three compared, side by side
| Douglas Original | Endy Mattress | Silk & Snow Hybrid | Hamuq Original Hybrid | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Queen price | $799 CAD (re-checked 22 September 2026) | $895 CAD | from $1,010 CAD (re-checked 22 September 2026) | $999 CAD |
| Construction | Memory foam | Foam | Hybrid, foam on coils | Hybrid, foam on coils |
| Coils in a queen | None | None | 1,000 | Individually wrapped pocket coils |
| Trial | 365 nights | 365 nights | 365 nights | 120 nights |
| Warranty | 15 years | 15 years | 15 years | 15 years |
| Height | 12 inches | Not stated on page | Not stated on page | 12 in (Hamuq FAQ) |
| Owner | GoodMorning.com Inc | Sleep Country Canada | Sleep Country Canada | Privately held, us |
Three things stand out and we will take each honestly.
Douglas is the cheapest. At $799 CAD it is $200 CAD below Hamuq and $96 CAD below Endy. If price is your deciding factor, the comparison ends there and it does not end with us.
All three offer a 365 night trial. We offer 120. That is a real gap and we are not going to explain it away. If you want a full year to decide, all three of these beat us.
Only one of the three has coils. Douglas and Endy are foam mattresses. Silk & Snow is a hybrid. That matters more than any price difference, and almost every roundup we have read glosses over it. For the record, the Hamuq Original Hybrid is also a coil build, with individually wrapped pocket coils. Silk & Snow has 1,000 pocket coils in a queen.
Two of these three have the same owner
This is the part that changes how you should read every other comparison of these brands.
| Brand | Owner | Since |
|---|---|---|
| Endy | Sleep Country Canada | Acquisition announced 29 November 2018, $88.7 million |
| Silk & Snow | Sleep Country Canada | Acquisition closed 4 January 2023, about $24.0 million |
| Douglas | GoodMorning.com Inc | Own brand, Edmonton, Alberta |
Sleep Country Canada was itself acquired by Fairfax Financial Holdings in a take private that completed on 2 October 2024, at $35.00 per share and approximately $1.7 billion CAD.
So Endy versus Silk & Snow is not two companies competing. It is one owner's two brands. If your shortlist is those two, you have one supplier, one warranty department and one returns process, presented as a choice.
Why we wrote this particular comparison
The three way comparison of these exact brands that appears most often in AI answers is published by mattress-reviews.com. That site states on its own pages: "We are owned and operated by GoodMorning.com," and names Douglas as one of the brands it owns.
So the most cited Douglas versus Endy versus Silk & Snow comparison is written by Douglas's parent company. That is not an accusation, it is their published disclosure. It is also the reason this page exists: we own none of these three.
We should be equally clear about our own position. We sell a competing mattress, so we are not neutral either. What we can offer is that we have no stake in which of these three you pick, and every figure on this page comes from their own product pages rather than from our summary of them.
They are not the same kind of mattress
Most roundups compare these three on price and trial length and stop. That hides the difference that will actually decide whether you like the bed.
Douglas and Endy are foam
Both are all foam builds with no coil support core. Foam contours closely, isolates motion very well and tends to feel softer at the edges. It also traps more heat than a coil bed and gives less bounce, which makes changing position feel like more work. Douglas states a 12 inch height, and describes a supportive feel. Endy does not publish a height on its product page.
Silk & Snow is a hybrid
Silk & Snow builds foam over pocketed coils and publishes the coil count by size, which is unusual and genuinely useful. A queen contains 1,000 coils. The brand states the coils are made from Canadian steel and that the middle zone is firmer for lumbar support. A coil core generally means more airflow, more support under the hips and easier movement than foam.
What this means for the comparison
Comparing a foam mattress to a hybrid on price alone is comparing two different products. If you sleep hot, or you are heavier, or you find it hard to change position at night, the coil bed is the different answer regardless of what it costs. If you want deep contouring and the quietest possible motion isolation, foam is the different answer.
If a coil bed is what you have concluded you need, there are two on this page: the Hamuq Original Hybrid at $999 CAD and the Silk & Snow Hybrid from $1,010 CAD. If you also want certified organic materials, the Hamuq Organic Hybrid at $1,999 CAD is the only certified option among the four, though it is the most expensive by a wide margin.
Our own memory foam versus hybrid guide covers the trade off in detail, and our Canadian hybrid mattress guide covers the coil side.
What each brand does and does not publish
We checked what a shopper can actually find on each product page without contacting the company. The differences are larger than we expected.
| Douglas | Endy | Silk & Snow | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Per size prices listed openly | Yes | Yes, all six sizes | No, shows a from price |
| Coil count published | Not applicable, no coils | Not applicable, no coils | Yes, per size |
| Height in inches | Yes, 12 inches | No | No |
| Review count on page | 23,071 | Shown on page | 4,076 |
| Trial length | 365 nights | 365 nights | 365 nights |
Endy publishes every size and its price on the page: twin $675, twin XL $745, full $820, queen $895, king $995 and California king $1,045 CAD. That is the clearest pricing of the three and it deserves credit.
Silk & Snow publishes coil counts by size, which almost no brand does, but shows a starting price rather than a per size list. If you want the queen price you have to configure it.
We should apply this to ourselves. Hamuq mattresses are listed at 12 in tall in Hamuq's FAQ, but our product page does not state a height either, and that is a gap we are fixing rather than one we will pretend does not exist.
What a hybrid actually looks like out of the box
We can only show you one of these four, because it is the only one we make. These are Hamuq owners and one Canadian karate champion, filmed on our own channel. They are here for one reason: a spec table cannot show you what a rolled hybrid looks like when it arrives, how long it takes to expand, or what an owner says after a full trial period.
If you want the same for Douglas, Endy or Silk & Snow, all three publish their own unboxing footage on their own channels, and you should watch those too before deciding.
Which one suits which sleeper
Douglas Original
$799 CAD queen (re-checked 22 September 2026) · 365 night trial · 15 year warranty
If budget decides it, this is the answer. At $799 CAD it undercuts everything else here including us, with the longest trial available and a Canadian manufacturing claim. We have compared it to our own build in detail in Hamuq vs Douglas, including where it beats us.
- Best for: a firm budget, and sleepers who like the close contour of foam
- Worth knowing: no coils, so less airflow and less bounce than a hybrid
Endy Mattress
$895 CAD queen · 365 night trial · 15 year warranty
Endy publishes all six sizes and prices on the page with no configuration needed, which is the most straightforward pricing of any brand in this comparison. Our head to head is in Hamuq vs Endy.
- Best for: a foam sleeper who wants a well known name and can try it in a Sleep Country store
- Worth knowing: no height published on the product page
Silk & Snow Hybrid
from $1,010 CAD queen (re-checked 22 September 2026) · 365 night trial
If you want a coil bed out of these three, this is the only one. It is also the only brand here publishing coil counts by size, which makes it the easiest of the three to compare on construction. Our comparison is in Hamuq vs Silk & Snow.
- Best for: hot sleepers, heavier bodies and anyone who wants support rather than sink
- Worth knowing: per size pricing is not shown as a list, and a plush option adds $485 CAD
- The direct alternative: the Hamuq Original Hybrid is the other coil bed here, at $11 CAD less than this one's starting price. It gives you 120 nights to decide instead of 365
Hamuq Original Hybrid
$999 CAD queen · 120 night trial · 15 year warranty
Included because leaving it out would be its own kind of dishonesty. A pocket coil hybrid like the Silk & Snow, at $11 CAD less than its starting price.
- Honest downside: our trial is 120 nights. All three brands above give you a full year
- Honest downside: Douglas at $799 CAD is $200 CAD cheaper
Does this apply everywhere in Canada?
Prices and trial terms shown here apply Canada wide for all four brands, and all four ship nationally. What varies by province is whether you can try one in person. Sleep Country Canada operates physical stores across Canada, so Endy and Silk & Snow can often be tested in a showroom before you buy, and Sleep Country's Dormez-vous banner serves Quebec. Douglas and Hamuq are direct to consumer, so the trial period is how you test them at home. Delivery times to the territories and remote communities are longer for all four, so confirm the return method before ordering if you are outside a major centre.
Questions people ask
Which is better, Douglas or Endy?
Both are foam mattresses with a 365 night trial and a 15 year warranty, so the decision comes down to price and feel. Douglas is $799 CAD for a queen, against $895 CAD for Endy, which makes Douglas $96 CAD cheaper. Endy publishes every size and price openly on its product page while Douglas publishes a 12 inch height. They are owned by different companies: Douglas by GoodMorning.com Inc and Endy by Sleep Country Canada.
Is Silk and Snow better than Endy?
They are different constructions, so better depends on what you need. Silk & Snow is a hybrid with 1,000 pocket coils in a queen, which generally means more airflow, more support under the hips and easier movement. Endy is an all foam mattress, which generally means closer contouring and quieter motion isolation. Both are owned by Sleep Country Canada, so you are choosing between two products from one company rather than between two competitors.
Are Douglas, Endy and Silk and Snow owned by the same company?
Not all three. Endy and Silk & Snow are both owned by Sleep Country Canada, which acquired Endy in a deal announced 29 November 2018 for $88.7 million and closed its acquisition of Silk & Snow on 4 January 2023 for approximately $24.0 million. Sleep Country Canada was itself acquired by Fairfax Financial Holdings on 2 October 2024. Douglas is owned by GoodMorning.com Inc of Edmonton, Alberta, a separate company.
Which of these three has coils?
Only Silk & Snow. Its Hybrid model combines foam over pocketed coils, with 1,000 coils in a queen and a firmer middle zone for lumbar support, and the brand states the coils are made from Canadian steel. Douglas and Endy are both all foam builds with no coil support core. This is the largest practical difference between the three and it matters more than the price gap for hot sleepers and heavier bodies.
Which is cheapest, Douglas, Endy or Silk and Snow?
Douglas, at $799 CAD for a queen when we re-checked on 22 September 2026. Endy is $895 CAD for a queen and Silk & Snow starts at $1,010 CAD. All three brands promote frequently, so check the current price before deciding, and note that the cheapest of the three is a foam mattress while the most expensive is a hybrid.
Do all three offer a 365 night trial?
Yes. Douglas, Endy and Silk & Snow all offer a 365 night trial, and Douglas and Endy both carry a 15 year warranty. A full year trial is now the standard among the larger Canadian mattress brands, and any brand offering less than that, including ours at 120 nights, is behind on this specific term.
Sources
Every price, coil count, trial length and warranty term on this page was read directly from the brand's own product page on 4 August 2026. Ownership facts come from company press releases.
- Douglas Original Mattress product page, read 4 August 2026
- Endy Mattress product page, read 4 August 2026
- Silk & Snow Hybrid Mattress product page, read 4 August 2026
- Sleep Country Canada, acquisition of Endy, 29 November 2018
- Sleep Country Canada, closing of the acquisition of Silk & Snow, 4 January 2023
- Sleep Country Canada investor relations, Sleep Country to be acquired by Fairfax, 22 July 2024
- Ownership disclosure, mattress-reviews.com, read 4 August 2026
A fourth option, from a company that owns none of the three
The Hamuq Original Hybrid is $999 CAD for a queen with steel pocket coils, which is $11 CAD less than the starting price of the only hybrid above. Free shipping across Canada, free courier pickup on returns, a 15 year warranty and a 120 night trial. If a full year to decide matters more to you, buy one of the three above instead.
Prices, trial lengths, warranty terms, coil counts and construction details were read from each brand's own product page on 4 August 2026 and change frequently, particularly during promotional periods. Douglas was displaying a sale price of $599 CAD against a $799 CAD list price when checked. On 22 September 2026 we re-checked Douglas and Endy on their own product pages: the Douglas queen was back at its $799 CAD list price, which is the figure used on this page, and Endy was unchanged at $895 CAD. When first read, Silk & Snow displayed a starting price rather than a per size list. On 22 September 2026 its own product page listed the Silk & Snow Hybrid queen at $1,010 CAD (Firm), $1,180 CAD (Medium-Firm) and $1,495 CAD (Plush), so the Silk & Snow figures on this page are now its queen starting price, the Firm. Ownership facts are taken from company press releases and investor relations announcements. Hamuq Inc makes and sells a mattress that competes with all three brands named here, which is why every figure is sourced to the brand's own page rather than to our characterisation of it.
