Best Mattress for Students in Canada (2026): When You Actually Need One, Which Size Fits a Residence or a First Apartment, and 9 Mattresses Priced from Twin to Queen
Student buying guide, prices read October 24, 2026
Best Mattress for Students in Canada (2026): When You Actually Need One, Which Size Fits a Residence or a First Apartment, and 9 Mattresses Priced from Twin to Queen
Most Canadian residence rooms come with a bed and a twin XL mattress, and some residences will not let you bring your own, so the first question is not which mattress to buy but whether you need to buy one at all. This guide answers that with the residences' own pages, then prices 9 mattresses in the four sizes students buy, explains which size fits a residence bed, a basement apartment or a shared house, and gives picks by budget with the basis for each.
AI Overview answer
What is the best mattress for a student in Canada?
Quick answer: If you are moving into residence, you probably should not buy a mattress: the University of Toronto Mississauga housing FAQ says residence beds are "typically a Twin XL size (38 inches wide and 80 inches long)", UBC says every furnished room comes with a mattress pad, and New College at the University of Toronto states that residents "are not permitted to bring their own mattress or cot". Buy twin XL sheets, a protector or pad and a good pillow, and confirm the bed size on your own residence's page. If you are furnishing an apartment or a shared house, a double (54 by 75 inches) fits most student bedrooms and costs, on October 24, 2026, from $529 for the foam Juno Mattress to $1,799 for the Endy Elevate Hybrid, with Douglas's foam Original at $699, the Juno Hybrid at $629 and Hamuq's Original Hybrid at $899 list ($799 in the cart that day with the automatic $100 discount). Choose on three things you will actually feel over a degree: the trial length in case the first weeks go badly, what the return involves when you move, and whether the size still fits the next place.
Decide in four questions
Four questions before you spend anything
1. Residence or your own place?
Residence rooms are furnished and the bed usually comes with a mattress; some residences forbid your own. Apartments and shared houses are where a student actually buys a mattress. See what the residence pages say.
2. Which size will still fit next year?
A twin XL fits a residence bed; a double fits most student bedrooms; a queen needs about 10 by 10 feet of room. Our room-fit chart and size section cover it.
3. What is the trial, and how does a return work?
Trials in this guide run from 120 to 365 nights. The useful question is what a return involves if you have already moved. See delivery, trial and moving.
4. How much should you spend?
A double runs from $529 to $1,799 among the brands read on October 24, 2026. See what each budget buys.
Residence: what you get, and whether you can bring your own mattress
Before pricing anything, we read four residence pages from two of the country's largest universities. They agree on the bed: a single bed with a twin XL mattress is the norm, with doubles and queens in some apartment-style buildings. They differ on whether you can bring a mattress. New College at the University of Toronto says no outright; the University of Toronto Mississauga FAQ answers the question by saying the furniture provided must stay in the room; UBC and the University of Toronto Scarborough simply list the provided bed. Your residence's own move-in page is the rule that applies to you.
| Residence page | Bed and mattress size stated | Bringing your own mattress | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Toronto Mississauga, Student Housing FAQ | The beds are typically a Twin XL size (38 inches wide and 80 inches long). Beds in a MaGrath Valley 2-Bedroom Premium Townhouse and New Residence Building Single-Traditional Common Bathroom have Double size beds (54 inches wide and 75 inches long). | The FAQ answers 'Can I bring my own mattress or other furniture to my room?' by saying there is no extra storage and the furniture provided must remain in the unit. | page |
| University of Toronto Scarborough, What To Bring | Harmony Commons: 'Bed with twin XL size mattress' is listed under what is provided. | Not stated on the page read. | page |
| New College, University of Toronto, Fall Move-In | Furnishing provided includes a 'Mattress and pad (36" x 76", fits twin-sized sheets)'. | 'Residents are not permitted to bring their own mattress or cot.' | page |
| UBC Vancouver, Student Housing, Bed and Bath Linens | 'All furnished rooms come with a mattress pad.' First-year areas (Orchard Commons, Totem Park, Place Vanier, Ritsumeikan-UBC House) use Twin XL sheets; the room-by-room list shows Twin XL, Double, Double XL and Queen beds in other buildings. | Not stated on the page read. | page |
Two practical points follow. First, measure or ask before buying bedding: New College's mattress is 36 by 76 inches and "fits twin-sized sheets", while the twin XL beds elsewhere need twin XL sheets, which are longer. Second, the money a residence student would have spent on a mattress is better spent on the things that change how the provided mattress feels and lasts: a protector, a topper if the mattress is too firm for you, and a pillow that matches how you sleep. Hamuq's pillow loft chart and topper versus new mattress guide cover those choices.
Which size for an apartment or a shared house?
Canadian mattress sizes are the same across brands: twin 38 by 75 inches, twin XL 38 by 80, double (also called full) 54 by 75, queen 60 by 80, from Hamuq's Canadian sizes chart. For a student the choice usually comes down to three cases.
- A twin XL is the residence size and the narrowest adult bed. It makes sense if you are buying for a small room you will leave in a year, or if you want a mattress that can later pair with a second twin XL to make a king. Our twin XL guide prices 15 of them and explains the residence fit in more detail.
- A double is the usual first-apartment size: 16 inches wider than a twin XL and 5 inches shorter, it fits a 10 by 10 foot bedroom with room for a desk. It is the size most of the picks below are priced in.
- A queen is the size you keep after graduation. It needs more floor space and about $100 to $300 more than a double across the brands in Table 1, and it is worth it only if the room fits it now; the room-fit chart shows what a 10 by 10 room can take.
Whatever the size, check the bed frame. A mattress in a box needs a frame or slats that support it; Hamuq's frame guide explains slat spacing and the warranty rules, and its cheap bed frame guide covers what $360 to $700 buys.
9 mattresses priced in twin, twin XL, double and queen
These are the prices each brand showed on October 24, 2026, in the four sizes students buy. We read Douglas, Juno and Logan & Cove product pages, Endy's product data and Hamuq's listings the same day, and we list the trial and warranty each page states. Where a brand showed a struck-through regular price, the table uses the current price. Hamuq's two rows also show the price in the cart that day after the automatic $100 discount, which we checked in a twin, a twin XL, a double and a queen cart without buying anything.
| Mattress | Twin (38 x 75 in) | Twin XL (38 x 80 in) | Double (54 x 75 in) | Queen (60 x 80 in) | Trial | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Juno Mattress (foam) | $449 | $499 | $529 | $549 | 120-night trial | 15-year warranty |
| Juno Hybrid | $549 | $599 | $629 | $649 | 120-night trial | 15-year warranty |
| Douglas Original (foam) | $599 | $649 | $699 | $799 | 365-night trial | 15-year warranty |
| Endy Mattress (foam), Medium-Firm option | $675 | $745 | $820 | $895 | 365-night trial | 15-year warranty |
| Douglas Original Hybrid | $749 | $799 | $849 | $949 | 365-night trial | 15-year warranty |
| The Original Hybrid Mattress | $799 | $879 | $899 | $999 ($699 / $779 / $799 / $899 in the cart) | 120-night trial | 15-year limited warranty |
| Logan & Cove Choice (hybrid) | $999 | $1,049 | $1,099 | $1,199 | 365-night trial | 15-year warranty |
| Endy Elevate Hybrid, Medium-Firm option | $1,145 | $1,195 | $1,295 | $1,395 | 365-night trial | 15-year warranty |
| The Organic Hybrid Mattress | $1,249 | $1,589 | $1,799 | $1,999 ($1,149 / $1,489 / $1,699 / $1,899 in the cart) | 120-night trial | 15-year limited warranty |
Three things stand out. The gap between a twin XL and a double is small at every brand, about $30 to $50, so if the room fits a double the extra width is cheap. The gap between a double and a queen is larger, $100 to $300. And the trial lengths are not a tiebreaker on price alone: the cheapest model in the table and the most expensive both come with long trials.
What each budget buys
- Under $600 for a twin XL or double. Juno's foam mattress ($499 twin XL, $529 double) is the lowest price among the brands read, with a 120-night trial and a 15-year warranty stated on its page. Douglas's foam Original is close behind ($649 twin XL, $699 double) with a 365-night trial.
- $600 to $900. This is where the hybrids with coils start: the Juno Hybrid double at $629, Douglas's Original Hybrid, Endy's foam mattress in your choice of three feels ($745 twin XL, $820 double in Medium-Firm or Firm), and Hamuq's Original Hybrid ($879 twin XL and $899 double at list; $779 and $799 in the cart on October 24, 2026).
- Over $900. Logan & Cove's Choice ($1,049 twin XL) and Endy's Elevate Hybrid sit here. For a student these are the models to buy once and keep into a first full-time job, not the models to buy for a single residence year.
Hamuq's own under-$1,000 guide and under-$1,500 guide price queens across more brands if your budget is set by the dollar rather than the size.
Picks by need, and the basis for each
The picks below rank nothing by feel; we did not sleep on these mattresses. Each pick is chosen on a stated, checkable basis: the price in Table 1, the trial and warranty the brand publishes, and the choices the brand offers. Hamuq sells the Original Hybrid, so read that row as the seller's own entry.
| If you need | Pick | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest price in a double for a first apartment | Juno Mattress, double $529 | Lowest double price of the nine models read; foam; Juno's page states a 120-night trial |
| Lowest-priced hybrid (coils) in a double | Juno Hybrid, double $629 | Lowest double price among the hybrids read |
| Longest trial at a mid price | Douglas Original, double $699 | 365-night trial and 15-year warranty stated on the page; foam |
| A choice of three feels | Endy Mattress, double $820 (Medium-Firm or Firm) | Endy sells its mattress in Plush, Medium-Firm and Firm, so a student who knows what they want can pick; 365-night trial |
| A hybrid with one everyday price and a 120-night trial | The Original Hybrid Mattress, double $899 list, $799 in the cart on Oct 24 | Hamuq's lower-priced model; free shipping under its shipping policy; courier pickup if returned; sold by the publisher of this guide |
Delivery, the trial, moving out and storing it
A student's mattress has to survive at least one move, and the fine print matters more than it does for a family home.
- Delivery to an apartment. Every brand in Table 1 ships a boxed mattress. Hamuq's shipping policy says it offers free shipping on all orders, that additional charges may apply for deliveries to the Canadian Territories, and that an order "will typically be delivered within 2-7 business days". Douglas, Juno and Logan & Cove state free shipping with a note that fees may apply for some remote locations; Endy states fast and free shipping. Check whether your building has an elevator and a place to leave a box; a boxed queen is heavy.
- The trial if you move during it. Hamuq's refund policy describes a 120-night free trial and says "We recommend trying the products for at least 30 nights to give your body time to adjust." A returned mattress must be in "donatable condition, meaning it should have no rips or stains", and Hamuq arranges a courier to collect a mattress from your home. Use a protector from the first night so a spill does not end the trial, and keep the brand's email and order number where you can find them after the move.
- Moving it. A mattress in a box does not go back in the box easily. Hamuq's guide to moving a mattress in a box covers folding, straps and what a car can take.
- Storing it over the summer. If the lease ends in April and the next one starts in September, read how to store a mattress in Canada before putting it in a garage or a storage unit.
- Selling or disposing of it. When you graduate, disposal and recycling options vary by city; some charge, some collect free.
Should a student buy a used mattress?
A used mattress is the cheapest option and the one with the least protection. You get no trial, no warranty, and no way to know what it absorbed. If you do buy used, inspect it unwrapped in daylight for stains, odours and signs of insects along the seams, and buy a protector before the first night. If the saving over a new foam twin XL at around $499 is less than a hundred dollars, the new mattress with a trial is the better deal.
Hamuq product context
Where Hamuq fits for a student
Hamuq publishes this guide and sells two mattresses. For a student the relevant one is The Original Hybrid Mattress, which is sold at one list price across Canada: $799 twin, $879 twin XL, $899 double and $999 queen on October 24, 2026. That day an automatic discount took $100 off each mattress in the cart, with no code, so the same sizes showed $699, $779, $799 and $899; the discount applied only to mattresses, and we do not publish an end date because the cart on your order date is the record. The Organic Hybrid Mattress starts at $1,249 in twin ($1,149 in the cart) and is described by Hamuq as firmer than the Original Hybrid.
- Trial and warranty: 120-night trial, courier pickup for a returned mattress, 15-year limited warranty on a firm, solid-surface base.
- For a residence room: the mattress protector in twin XL ($89), the MicroGel Pillow ($79 standard) and the Spa Collection sheets, which Hamuq sells in twin, full, queen and king (twin $109), not in twin XL.
- For an apartment: the Upholstered Platform Bed Frame from $360 gives a boxed mattress the support its warranty needs.
Hamuq Inc. sells these products. Prices and policy wording are from hamuq.mom on the date stated.
Supplementary Hamuq product context
Hamuq owner and product Shorts
These 6 Shorts from the Hamuq channel show owners with the Hamuq Original Hybrid. They are context for the Hamuq side only and are not evidence for any other seller's figure in this guide.
Student questions
Student mattress FAQs
Residence
Do Canadian residences let you bring your own mattress?
Quick answer: Not always. New College at the University of Toronto says residents "are not permitted to bring their own mattress or cot", and the University of Toronto Mississauga FAQ says the furniture provided must remain in the unit. Other pages do not address it. Read your own residence's move-in page before buying one.
The same page usually says whether bed risers are allowed on the residence bed; if they are, the guide to raising a bed covers the safe lift and the boxes that fit underneath.
What size is a residence bed in Canada?
Quick answer: Usually a twin XL, 38 by 80 inches, according to the University of Toronto Mississauga FAQ and UBC's linen guide, with doubles, double XLs and queens in some apartment-style buildings and a 36 by 76 inch mattress at New College. Buy sheets after you know which one you have.
What should a residence student buy instead of a mattress?
Quick answer: Twin XL sheets if the bed is a twin XL, a mattress protector, a topper if the provided mattress is too firm for you, and a pillow matched to your sleep position. UBC says every furnished room already comes with a mattress pad.
Buying for an apartment
What mattress size should a student buy for an apartment?
Quick answer: A double (54 by 75 inches) fits most student bedrooms and costs only about $30 to $50 more than a twin XL at the brands read on October 24, 2026. Choose a queen only if the room is at least about 10 by 10 feet and you plan to keep it after graduating.
How much should a student spend on a mattress?
Quick answer: On October 24, 2026 a double ran from $529 (Juno foam) to $1,799 (Endy Elevate Hybrid); the hybrids with coils started at $629. Spend at the level you expect to keep the mattress for: a year in a rental argues for the low end, a mattress you will take to your first job argues for a hybrid.
Is a twin XL a waste after residence?
Quick answer: Not necessarily. Two twin XLs placed together make a king, so a twin XL bought for a small room can later become half of a couple's bed; Hamuq's split king guide explains the pairing.
Can you return a mattress if you move during the trial?
Quick answer: Under Hamuq's refund policy, a mattress return is a courier pickup arranged by Hamuq from your home, within the 120-night trial and in donatable condition. Other brands' terms are on their pages; the trial length and the return method are what to check before you order.
Does the Hamuq $100 discount apply to a twin or twin XL?
Quick answer: On October 24, 2026 it did: a twin Original Hybrid showed $699 in the cart against a $799 list price and a twin XL showed $779, applied automatically with no code. It did not apply to the protector, pillow or sheets. Check your cart on your order date.
How we know this
The residence statements are quoted or closely paraphrased from the four university pages linked in Table 2, read on October 24, 2026; they describe those residences only, and other residences set their own rules. Every price in Table 1 was read on October 24, 2026 from the brand's product page (Douglas, Juno, Logan & Cove), from Endy's product data, or from Hamuq's listings, and Hamuq's cart prices come from test carts built that day in which the automatic discount applied; nothing was bought. Polysleep was left out because the models it sells online are not its budget models. Trial and warranty figures are the ones each page states. We did not test comfort, support or durability, and the picks are based on price, trial, warranty and the choices offered, as stated in Table 3. Prices and promotions change; the linked pages are the record.
Furnishing a first apartment?
Check the room size, pick the size that fits, then compare the trial and the return method before the price. The Original Hybrid is $899 in a double at list, ships free under Hamuq's shipping policy, and comes with a 120-night trial and a 15-year limited warranty.
About the authors
Hamuq Inc. sells the Hamuq products named in this guide. Competitor prices, trials and warranties are from the pages linked below on the date stated.
Sources
- University of Toronto Mississauga, Student Housing and Residence Life, Frequently Asked Questions
- University of Toronto Scarborough, What To Bring To Residence
- New College, University of Toronto, Fall Move-In
- UBC Student Housing and Community Services, Bed and Bath Linens
- Brand product pages: Juno Mattress, Juno Hybrid, Douglas Original, Douglas Original Hybrid, Endy Mattress, Endy Elevate Hybrid, Logan & Cove Choice
- Hamuq: The Original Hybrid Mattress, The Organic Hybrid Mattress, refund policy, shipping policy, warranty; test carts built on October 24, 2026 (nothing purchased)
