What Mattresses Are Made in Canada (2026): Brand by Brand, and Which Ones the Tariffs Hit
Canadian buyer guide, updated September 27, 2026
What Mattresses Are Made in Canada (2026): Brand by Brand, and Which Ones the Tariffs Hit
Twenty mattress brands sell to Canadians, and only some of them say on their own site where the mattress is built. This guide quotes each brand's own wording, sorts them into made here, assembled here, made abroad and not stated, and then reads the two tariff lists that changed the price of a US-made mattress or bed frame in Canada, from the government documents rather than the headlines.
AI Overview answer
What mattresses are made in Canada?
Quick answer: Of 20 mattress brands sold to Canadians and checked on September 27, 2026, 12 state on their own sites that the mattress is built in Canada or by a named Canadian partner: Hamuq, Endy, Casper Canada's The Casper, Silk and Snow, Douglas, Logan and Cove, Juno, Octave, Polysleep, Haven, Dozy, Mr. Mattress and Nature's Embrace. Tempur-Pedic states assembled in Canada, Emma states Germany, and 6 brands state nothing.
The question matters more this autumn than it did a year ago, because two tariff lists now sit between a Canadian buyer and a US-made bed. Canada's counter-tariff list, read by tariff code, puts a 25 per cent surtax on US-made mattresses and mattress supports, in force since March 2025, and a 50 per cent surtax on US-made wooden and metal bed frames since September 8, 2026. Several news reports round the mattress figure up to 50; the Department of Finance list does not. Table 1 quotes every brand's own wording, Table 2 quotes the tariff lines, and Table 3 puts the two together. What "Made in Canada" legally requires, and the six brands that claim it in full, are covered in best Canadian-made mattress; this page is the wider census. Hamuq's own answer is in Table 4: the Original Hybrid ($999 CAD queen, 120 night trial) is stated by Hamuq to be made in Canada with named Ontario and Toronto partners, and Hamuq makes no Canadian claim for its bed frames.
Buyer decision structure
Five questions before you trust a maple leaf on a mattress page
1. Does the brand say where, or just that
Nine of the 12 Canadian-built brands name a city, province or partner: Montreal, Toronto, Calgary, Surrey, Ontario and Quebec facilities, or named suppliers. Three say "Canada" and stop. A place name is checkable; a flag is not.
2. Made, assembled, or designed
Tempur-Pedic Canada states "assembled in Canada with domestic and non-domestic components". Emma states German engineering and local production without naming Canada. The three words carry different amounts of Canadian content.
3. Does the tariff reach the mattress or the frame
Canada's list charges 25 per cent on a US-made mattress and 50 per cent on a US-made wooden or metal bed frame. A US-built frame under a Canadian mattress can cost more in surtax than the mattress does.
4. Who owns the brand
Endy, Casper Canada, Silk and Snow and Hush share an owner; Douglas, Logan and Cove, Juno and Octave share another. Ownership does not decide where the foam is poured, but it explains why four sites use the same sentence.
5. Does the trial still protect you
Every online brand in Table 1 keeps a 100 to 365 night trial regardless of origin. Hamuq's is 120 nights with a 30 night minimum and free pickup, and it covers frames too.
Brand by brand: what each mattress brand's own site says about where it is made
Twelve of the 20 brands state a Canadian build on their own pages, 1 states assembly in Canada, 1 states German origin, and 6 say nothing about origin on the pages read. The table quotes the wording as published on September 27, 2026 and names the page, so anyone can check it; it does not repeat what review sites or retailers say about a brand.
| Brand | What its own site says | Reading | Where it says it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hamuq | "Made in Canada with our local partners Galaxy, VitaFoam, and FineCotton"; product page: fabric "produced by Fine Cotton, a fabric manufacturer in Toronto", foams "produced in Ontario by Vitafoam"; coils "double-tempered and made locally". No Canadian claim for bed frames. | Made in Canada, partners named | hamuq.mom about page and Original Hybrid page |
| Endy | "Canadian-Made Mattresses"; "produced in facilities in Ontario and Quebec" | Made in Canada, provinces named | endy.com home page (September 24 and 25 reads) |
| Casper Canada | "The Casper Mattress is proudly made in Canada using Canadian materials"; origin of the Wave Hybrid Snow not stated on the pages read | Made in Canada, one model stated | casper.ca blog, The Casper original bed in a box, August 10, 2026 |
| Silk & Snow | "Made in Canada" and "Proudly Canadian" on the Hybrid page; "founded and headquartered in Toronto" | Made in Canada, city of head office named | silkandsnow.com hybrid and comparison pages |
| Douglas | Retailer GoodMorning: "Douglas, Logan & Cove, Juno, and Octave mattresses are designed in Canada and proudly manufactured by Canadian production partners across the country"; Douglas's own made-in-Canada page returned a 404 | Made in Canada, partners unnamed | goodmorning.com made in Canada page |
| Logan & Cove | Same GoodMorning statement; site footer "Made in Canada" | Made in Canada, partners unnamed | loganandcove.ca and goodmorning.com |
| Juno | "Juno is designed, manufactured, and shipped right here in Canada"; "using premium Canadian-sourced materials" | Made in Canada, materials claimed | juno.ca made in Canada page |
| Octave | Same GoodMorning statement; octave.ca itself carried no origin wording on the page read | Made in Canada, per retailer | goodmorning.com made in Canada page |
| Polysleep | "Every mattress we make is crafted right here in Canada at our facility in Montreal, Quebec" | Made in Canada, city named | polysleep.ca made in Canada page |
| Haven Sleep Co. | "Hand built in Canada"; "every mattress is built in Toronto or Calgary for your order" | Made in Canada, cities named | havenmattress.ca home page |
| Dozy | "Proudly Made in Toronto"; "made in Toronto at our local factory" | Made in Canada, city named | dozysleep.ca site header and Toronto page |
| Mr. Mattress | "Locally made mattresses"; "manufactured by Restwell Sleep Products in Surrey, BC" | Made in Canada, factory named | mrmattress.ca home and manufacturer pages |
| Nature's Embrace | "Proudly made in Metro Vancouver, every Nature's Embrace latex mattress is carefully handcrafted" | Made in Canada, region named | naturesembracelatex.com home page |
| Tempur-Pedic Canada | "Assembled in Canada. With domestic & non-domestic components" | Assembled in Canada | tempurpedic.ca home page |
| Emma | "Founded in Frankfurt, Germany"; "German-engineered mattresses"; "our belief in producing our products locally"; no Canadian factory named | German brand, Canadian production not stated | emma-sleep.ca about page |
| Purple | No manufacturing statement on the Canadian home page read | Not stated | purple.com/ca |
| Nectar | No manufacturing statement on the Canadian home page or FAQ read | Not stated | nectarsleep.ca |
| Sealy Canada, Serta Canada, Beautyrest Canada | No manufacturing statement on the home or about pages read | Not stated | sealy.ca, serta.ca, beautyrest.ca |
| IKEA Canada | No manufacturing statement on the mattress category or support pages read | Not stated | ikea.com/ca |
| Hush | No manufacturing statement on the about page read | Not stated | hush.ca |
Three patterns are worth noticing. The GoodMorning brands, Douglas, Logan and Cove, Juno and Octave, share one sentence and do not name their production partners; Juno alone adds a materials claim. The Sleep Country brands, Endy, Casper Canada and Silk and Snow, each make their own claim, and Endy's is the most specific with two provinces named. The small makers, Polysleep, Haven, Dozy, Mr. Mattress and Nature's Embrace, name a city or a factory, which is the easiest kind of claim to verify. "Not stated" is not an accusation; it means the brand's Canadian pages read that day did not say, and the law tag on the mattress itself will. How ownership lines up across these brands is in who owns Canada's mattress brands.
The tariff lines, read from the government lists rather than the headlines
A US-made mattress entering Canada carries a 25 per cent surtax, in force since March 4, 2025, and a US-made wooden or metal bed frame carries 50 per cent, in force since September 8, 2026, according to the Department of Finance's complete list of US products subject to counter-tariffs, read by tariff item on September 27, 2026. The table quotes the lines that touch a bed, with the rate and the date each took effect, and then the US side for Canadian goods going the other way.
| Tariff item | What it covers | Rate | In force since | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9404.21.00 and 9404.29.00 | Mattresses of cellular rubber or plastics (foam), and of other materials (coil), made in the US | 25 per cent surtax entering Canada | March 4, 2025 | Finance Canada complete list |
| 9404.10.00 | Mattress supports, made in the US | 25 per cent | March 4, 2025 | Finance Canada complete list |
| 9404.30.00, 9404.40.00, 9404.90.10 and 9404.90.90 | Sleeping bags, quilts and duvets, pillows and other bedding, made in the US | 25 per cent | March 4 and 13, 2025 | Finance Canada complete list |
| 9403.50.00 | Wooden furniture of a kind used in the bedroom, including bed frames, made in the US | 50 per cent | September 8, 2026 | Finance Canada, September 8 list |
| 9403.20.00 | Other metal furniture, including metal bed frames, made in the US | 50 per cent | September 8, 2026 | Finance Canada, September 8 list |
| 9401.61 to 9401.79 | Upholstered and other seats with wooden or metal frames, made in the US | 25 to 50 per cent | September 8, 2026 | Finance Canada, September 8 list |
| 7320.20.00 and 7320.90.00 | Helical and other steel springs, made in the US (a coil unit shipped as a component) | 25 per cent from March 13, 2025, listed at 50 per cent on the September 8, 2026 list | March 13, 2025 and September 8, 2026 | Finance Canada complete list and September 8 list |
| US Section 338, Proclamation 11048 | 50 per cent additional duty on more than 400 classes of Canadian goods entering the US, furniture included | 50 per cent, on top of the normal rate, CUSMA origin does not exempt | August 22, 2026 | Federal Register, September 14, 2026 |
| US Section 338, Proclamations 11064 and 11065 | Scope modified; US Customs bulletin CSMS 69851916 lists the added classifications, which trade advisories report include mattresses | 50 per cent | September 15, 2026 | Federal Register and CBP bulletin; the HS annex is a downloadable list |
Two corrections to what has been widely reported. First, the 25 per cent on US-made mattresses is not new; it dates from the first Canadian counter-tariff package in March 2025, so any price change from it is already in the sticker. What changed on September 8, 2026 is bed frames and seating, at 50 per cent. Second, the rate applies to where the mattress was made, not where the brand is headquartered: a US-owned brand building in Canada pays nothing, and a Canadian-owned brand importing from a US plant pays 25 per cent. The list is a government page and can change with little notice, which is why the table carries a read date. The Competition Bureau's rules on what a company may call "Made in Canada" are a separate matter, set out in the Canadian-made mattress guide.
Which brands the tariffs reach, and which they do not
None of the 12 brands that state a Canadian build is exposed to the Canadian surtax on its mattress, and the 6 brands that state nothing are the ones a buyer cannot clear from a web page alone. The table combines Table 1 and Table 2 into the question that matters at checkout: is any part of this bed likely to have crossed the border from the US.
| Brand | Mattress origin per its own site | Canadian surtax on the mattress | What a buyer can still not tell from the site |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hamuq | Made in Canada, Ontario foam and Toronto fabric named | None | Bed frames: Hamuq makes no origin claim for its 13 frames |
| Endy, Silk & Snow, Casper Canada (The Casper) | Made in Canada | None on the stated models | Casper's Wave Hybrid Snow origin; frame origin for all three |
| Douglas, Logan & Cove, Juno, Octave | Manufactured by Canadian production partners | None | Which partners; frame and adjustable base origin |
| Polysleep, Haven, Dozy, Mr. Mattress, Nature's Embrace | Montreal, Toronto or Calgary, Toronto, Surrey, Metro Vancouver | None | Component origin (foam, latex, coil wire) |
| Tempur-Pedic Canada | Assembled in Canada with domestic and non-domestic components | None on a finished mattress assembled here; components not stated | Which components are non-domestic and from where |
| Emma | German brand; Canadian production not stated | None if made outside the US; the US is not named | Where the Canadian-market mattress is built |
| Purple, Nectar | Not stated | 25 per cent if the unit is US-made; not determinable from the site | Everything; check the law tag on delivery |
| Sealy, Serta, Beautyrest, IKEA, Hush | Not stated | Not determinable from the site | Origin varies by model and retailer; check the law tag |
The practical rule for a buyer who wants to avoid the surtax is simple: buy from a brand that names a Canadian factory or partner, and read the law tag on the mattress when it arrives, because that tag states the country of manufacture whatever the website says. The bed frame is the more expensive mistake this year. A US-made wooden or metal frame carries 50 per cent, twice the mattress rate, and only a minority of frame sellers state origin at all. Hamuq is in that minority in the wrong direction: it does not claim Canadian origin for any of its 13 frames, which is stated plainly in Table 4 rather than left to be assumed.
What Hamuq states about its own build, and what it does not claim
Hamuq states that its mattresses are made in Canada with three named partners, and it makes no Canadian claim for its bed frames; both halves of that sentence are on its own pages. The table lists what Hamuq publishes, layer by layer, and marks the two things it does not say, so that this page holds Hamuq to the same standard as the other 19 brands.
| Item | What Hamuq states | Where | What is not stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mattress, overall | "Made in Canada with our local partners Galaxy, VitaFoam, and FineCotton" | About page | The assembly city is not named |
| Cover fabric | "Produced by Fine Cotton, a fabric manufacturer in Toronto" | Original Hybrid product page | Fibre origin before the mill |
| Foams | "All our foams are produced in Ontario by Vitafoam"; CertiPUR-US | Original Hybrid product page | Chemical feedstock origin |
| Coil unit | Double-tempered carbon steel, "made locally", 9 in zoned pocket coils | Original Hybrid product page | Wire origin; the phrase "locally" is not a city |
| Shipping carton | 100 per cent paper corrugated mailer, 18.5 by 18.5 by 43 in | Bill of materials | Carton mill not named |
| Bed frames, 13 models | No country of origin claim; dimensions, weights and a 500 lb tested capacity on 2 frames are published | Frame product pages | Where any frame is made |
| Trial and warranty | 120 nights, 30 night minimum, free pickup, frames included; 15 year mattress and 5 year frame warranty | Return and warranty pages | Nothing; both are policy text |
The honest reading is that Hamuq's mattress claim is among the more checkable in Table 1, because it names a Toronto mill and an Ontario foam plant, and that its frame position is the same as most of the market: silent. A buyer who wants a frame with a stated Canadian origin should look at Table 1's small makers or ask the seller in writing, and Hamuq will say so rather than imply otherwise. Every layer of the mattress and where it comes from is set out in what is inside a mattress.
What a Canadian-made queen costs, by list price
A queen mattress that its maker states is built in Canada listed at $449 to $1,999 CAD on September 27, 2026, with 6 of the 9 priced brands between $795 and $1,010. The table gives the list price without promotions, the trial, and the origin wording in three words, for the brands whose price could be read from their own product data that day.
| Mattress | Origin wording | Queen list CAD | Trial | Figure source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Juno Mattress | Designed, manufactured and shipped in Canada | From $449, queen not read | 120 nights | juno.ca Black Friday page snippet |
| Dozy Osgoode | Made in Toronto | $499, read September 24 | 125 nights | dozysleep.ca |
| Polysleep Sierra | Crafted at our facility in Montreal | $795 | 100 nights, 45 minimum | polysleep.ca product data |
| Douglas Original | Canadian production partners | $799 | 365 nights, 21 minimum | douglas.ca product page |
| Endy Mattress | Facilities in Ontario and Quebec | $895 | 100 nights on the refund policy; 365 on the product page | endy.com product data |
| Hamuq Original Hybrid | Made in Canada, Ontario foam, Toronto fabric | $999 | 120 nights, 30 minimum, frames included | hamuq.mom product data |
| Silk & Snow Hybrid, firm | Made in Canada | $1,010 | 365 nights, 30 day minimum | silkandsnow.com hybrid page |
| Douglas Summit Hybrid | Canadian production partners | $1,449 | 365 nights | douglas.ca product page |
| Casper, The Casper, medium | Made in Canada using Canadian materials | $1,499, read September 24 | 100 nights | casper.ca product page |
| Hamuq Organic Hybrid | Made in Canada, organic cotton cover | $1,999 | 120 nights, 30 minimum | hamuq.mom product data |
Buying Canadian-made does not mean paying more: the four cheapest queens in this guide all state a Canadian build, and the whole set sits inside the $800 to $1,500 band that Canadian buyers already pay. Haven, Mr. Mattress and Nature's Embrace are omitted only because their queen prices could not be read from product data that day; Mr. Mattress publishes a $320 to $1,550 range for its continuous coil line without a size. The pre-Black Friday baseline for these prices, and what each brand was already discounting, is in Black Friday mattress deals in Canada, and how much to spend at all is in how much to spend on a mattress.
Where an imported or unstated-origin mattress is still the better buy
Origin is one filter, not the only one, and there are three cases where a mattress from the "not stated" or "assembled" rows beats the Canadian-built ones for a given buyer. If you want a specific material that no Canadian builder in Table 1 offers, Tempur-Pedic's proprietary foam is assembled here with imported components and no Canadian maker claims to match it; the surtax does not apply to a mattress assembled in Canada, so the price you see is the price. If you want a showroom test across many brands in one visit, the department store and Sleep Country floors carry the Sealy, Serta and Beautyrest lines whose origin varies by model, and the law tag on the floor model answers the question the website does not. If you want the lowest sticker regardless of origin, marketplace listings undercut every brand here, and they are also the listings least likely to state origin, capacity or warranty.
What a Canadian-built mattress buys you, on the evidence in this guide, is a checkable claim, no counter-tariff exposure, and a supplier chain short enough that delivery is 2 to 7 business days rather than weeks. Hamuq's case rests on the first two of those: it names its partners, and it does not claim what it cannot show, which is why the frame row in Table 4 says "no claim" rather than a maple leaf.
What stops people from buying Canadian-made, and the actual answer
The same 5 objections come up whenever origin enters the decision, and each has an answer with a number or a document in it.
"Every brand says Made in Canada now, so it means nothing."
Twelve of 20 say it, and 9 of those name a city, province, factory or partner that can be checked. The Competition Bureau's rules on the phrase are real and the Canadian-made guide walks through them. Hamuq names Fine Cotton in Toronto and Vitafoam in Ontario on its product page.
"The tariff is 50 per cent, so US mattresses just got unaffordable."
On the Department of Finance list the mattress line is 25 per cent and has been since March 2025; the 50 per cent line is bed frames and seating from September 8, 2026. Table 2 quotes the tariff items. If a seller tells you its mattress price rose because of a new 50 per cent tariff, ask which tariff item.
"I cannot verify any of this before I pay."
You can verify it after, at no risk. Every online brand here gives 100 to 365 nights; Hamuq gives 120 with a 30 night minimum and a free courier pickup, per its return policy. The law tag on the mattress states the country of manufacture. If it does not match the website, the trial is your remedy.
"Canadian-made costs more."
Table 5 says otherwise: queens stated as Canadian-built list from $449 to $1,010 for 6 of the 9 priced brands, and the Hamuq Original Hybrid at $999 CAD is a pocket coil hybrid inside that band with a 15 year warranty.
"What about the bed frame?"
That is the better question this year, because a US-made wooden or metal frame carries 50 per cent. Hamuq does not claim Canadian origin for its frames and says so; its 13 frames are one price each, from $360 CAD, and the 120 night trial covers them with free pickup. Ask any frame seller for the country of origin in writing before Black Friday.
Try the Original Hybrid, 120 nights, free pickup if it is not right
Hamuq product context
Hamuq's Canadian-made mattress, stated with the partners named
The Hamuq Original Hybrid is $999 CAD in queen and $1,189 CAD in king, medium-firm, on a 9 in zoned pocket coil unit, and the Organic Hybrid is $1,999 CAD in queen. Hamuq states both are made in Canada with its partners Galaxy, VitaFoam and FineCotton, with the cover fabric from Fine Cotton in Toronto and the foams from Vitafoam in Ontario. Free shipping across Canada in 2 to 7 business days, a 120 night trial with a 30 night minimum that covers bed frames, free courier pickup, and a 15 year warranty. Possible downside: Hamuq does not name the city where the mattress is assembled, it makes no Canadian origin claim for any of its 13 bed frames, and its 120 nights is shorter than the 365 at Douglas, Logan and Cove and Silk and Snow; if a named assembly city, a Canadian-made frame or the longest trial is the deciding factor, other rows in Table 1 serve that better. Prices read from Hamuq product data on September 27, 2026.
Hamuq Inc. sells mattresses and frames that compete with the brands named here. Every competitor statement is quoted from that seller's own site and linked in the sources; no review counts or star ratings are cited. Tariff rates are quoted from the Department of Finance list as read on September 27, 2026 and can change.
Canadian-made mattress finder
These 4 routes cover the origin decisions in this guide, and 3 of them lead away from Hamuq.
Pick the card that sounds like you
Open your route. Every answer here is also in the tables above, so nothing depends on the card.
1 I want a factory I can name and visit
Your route: the small makers. Polysleep in Montreal, Dozy in Toronto, Haven in Toronto or Calgary, Mr. Mattress via Restwell in Surrey, Nature's Embrace in Metro Vancouver. All five name the place on their own sites. Hamuq is not on this route.
2 I want the longest trial on a Canadian-built mattress
Your route: Douglas, Logan and Cove or Silk and Snow. All three state a Canadian build and publish 365 nights, with a 21 night minimum at Douglas and 30 days at Silk and Snow. Hamuq is not on this route.
3 I want a material no Canadian builder makes
Your route: check the assembled and unstated rows. Tempur-Pedic states assembled in Canada with imported components, so no surtax applies to the finished mattress. For the brands that state nothing, read the law tag on delivery and use the trial if it is not what you expected.
4 I want a hybrid with named Canadian suppliers, and one trial covering the frame
Your route: Hamuq. The Original Hybrid is $999 CAD in queen, Hamuq names Fine Cotton in Toronto and Vitafoam in Ontario, and the 120 night trial covers the frame with free pickup. Hamuq does not claim Canadian origin for the frame itself.
This finder uses native expandable cards and no script. It is a guide to what each seller publishes.
Supplementary Hamuq product context
Hamuq owner and product Shorts
These 6 Shorts from the Hamuq channel show owners with the Hamuq Original Hybrid. They are context for the Hamuq side only and are not evidence for any other seller's figure in this guide.
Google-style buyer questions
Made-in-Canada mattress FAQs
Which brands are Canadian-made
Is Casper Canadian or American?
Quick answer: Casper is an American brand, and Casper Canada is a separate Canadian operation whose site states that The Casper Mattress is "proudly made in Canada using Canadian materials", in a blog post dated August 10, 2026. Its Wave Hybrid Snow's origin was not stated on the pages read. Casper Canada shares an owner with Endy and Silk and Snow, which is set out in Hamuq's ownership guide.
Is Emma a Canadian company?
Quick answer: No. Emma's Canadian about page states it was founded in Frankfurt, Germany in 2015, that its mattresses are German-engineered, and that the company believes in "producing our products locally", without naming a Canadian factory on the page read September 27, 2026. Emma is part of the Bettzeit group. Whether a given Emma model sold in Canada is built here is not stated on its site.
Is Sealy a Canadian company?
Quick answer: Sealy's Canadian site did not state where its mattresses are made or who owns the brand on the home page read September 27, 2026, so this guide records it as not stated rather than guessing. The same is true of Serta Canada and Beautyrest Canada. For those brands the law tag on the specific mattress, which states the country of manufacture, is the reliable check.
Is Serta mattress Canadian-made?
Quick answer: Serta's Canadian home and about pages carried no manufacturing statement on September 27, 2026, so it cannot be confirmed from the site. Origin for retailer-sold brands often varies by model and by the plant supplying a given store. Ask the retailer for the country of manufacture in writing, or read the law tag on the floor model, before relying on a Canadian-made assumption.
The tariffs
Are US-made mattresses subject to a tariff in Canada?
Quick answer: Yes. The Department of Finance's complete list of US products subject to counter-tariffs, read September 27, 2026, shows tariff items 9404.21 and 9404.29, mattresses of foam and of other materials, at 25 per cent, in force since March 4, 2025. Mattress supports under 9404.10 and bedding under 9404.90 are also 25 per cent. The rate applies to where the mattress was made, not where the brand is based.
Is the tariff on mattresses 50 per cent?
Quick answer: Not on mattresses entering Canada. The 50 per cent lines on Canada's September 8, 2026 list are wooden bedroom furniture (9403.50), metal furniture (9403.20), most seating and steel springs; mattresses stayed at the 25 per cent set in March 2025. The 50 per cent figure that does apply to mattresses is the US Section 338 duty on Canadian-made mattresses entering the United States, added on September 15, 2026.
Does a US-made bed frame cost more in Canada now?
Quick answer: Yes, if it was made in the US. Since September 8, 2026 Canada applies a 50 per cent surtax to US-made wooden bedroom furniture and metal furniture, which includes bed frames, twice the rate on mattresses. Frames made in Asia or Canada are not affected. Few frame sellers state origin; Hamuq does not claim Canadian origin for its 13 frames and says so.
Does Hamuq pay the tariff?
Quick answer: Not on its mattresses. Hamuq states its mattresses are made in Canada with Fine Cotton in Toronto, Vitafoam in Ontario and Galaxy, so no US surtax applies to them and the $999 CAD queen price is unaffected by the September 8, 2026 list. Hamuq makes no origin claim for its bed frames. For Hamuq orders shipped to the United States, the US 50 per cent Section 338 duty is the relevant charge.
Choosing
What is the top rated mattress in Canada?
Quick answer: Hamuq does not cite ratings or review counts for any brand, including itself, because several Canadian review sites are owned by the brands they rank. What this guide can rank is the checkability of each brand's origin claim: 9 of 20 name a city, province, factory or partner, and those are listed in Table 1. Among hybrids stated as Canadian-built, queens run from $999 CAD at Hamuq to $1,449 at Douglas Summit.
Which mattress is better, Casper or Endy?
Quick answer: On origin alone they are close: both state a Canadian build, Endy naming Ontario and Quebec facilities and Casper Canada naming Canadian materials for The Casper. On price, Endy lists $895 CAD in queen against The Casper at $1,499 read September 24, 2026, and Endy's refund policy gives 100 nights while its product page says 365. The two share an owner. The full comparison is in Hamuq's Casper vs Endy guide.
How can I check where a mattress was made after it arrives?
Quick answer: Read the law tag sewn to the mattress: it states the country of manufacture and the manufacturer or importer, and it is the document that matters if a website claim is wrong. Then compare it to the brand's stated wording in Table 1. Every online brand here gives 100 to 365 nights to return the mattress; Hamuq gives 120 with a 30 night minimum and free courier pickup.
Is a Canadian-made mattress cheaper than an imported one?
Quick answer: Often, on list price. On September 27, 2026 the four cheapest queens in this guide, Juno from $449, Dozy $499, Polysleep Sierra $795 and Douglas Original $799, all state a Canadian build, and the Hamuq Original Hybrid at $999 sits inside the $800 to $1,500 band Canadians typically pay. A US-made mattress adds a 25 per cent surtax before it reaches a Canadian checkout.
How we know this
This guide was built on September 27, 2026 from 33 seller and government pages read that day, plus 3 seller readings from September 24 and 25 labelled in the tables. Every origin statement is quoted from the brand's own site, with the page named; where a page carried no statement, the table says "not stated" and does not fill the gap from review sites or retailers. The Canadian tariff rates and dates come from the Department of Finance's complete list of US products subject to counter-tariffs, read line by line for tariff items 9404, 9403, 9401 and 7320 in its basic HTML version, and from the September 8, 2026 list; the US rates come from the Federal Register proclamations of July and September 2026 and the CBP bulletin CSMS 69851916, whose product annex is a downloadable list that names the added classifications. Hamuq's statements come from its about page, product page and bill of materials. Prices come from each seller's product data. The People Also Ask questions were captured from Google Canada with gl=ca, hl=en and pws=0 the same day. No review counts, star ratings or third-party scores are cited for any brand. Douglas's own made-in-Canada page returned a 404 that day, so its statement is quoted from its retailer GoodMorning.
Named partners, no tariff on the mattress, 120 nights to check
The Hamuq Original Hybrid at $999 CAD in queen, stated by Hamuq to be made in Canada with Fine Cotton in Toronto and Vitafoam in Ontario, free shipping in 2 to 7 business days, a 120 night trial covering mattress and frame with free pickup, and a 15 year warranty.
About the authors
Reviewer safeguard: This article does not use reviewedBy markup or present anyone as a credentialed product reviewer. Hamuq Inc. competes with the brands named here, which is why every statement about them is quoted from their own sites and linked below.
Sources
- Department of Finance Canada, complete list of US products subject to counter tariffs, tariff items 9404, 9403, 9401 and 7320
- Department of Finance Canada, list of US products subject to counter-tariffs effective September 8, 2026
- Federal Register, Proclamation modifying the scope of products of Canada subject to additional duties, September 14, 2026
- US Customs and Border Protection, CSMS 69851916, modifying Section 338 duties on goods of Canada, effective September 15, 2026
- Hamuq, about page, Canadian manufacturing partners
- Hamuq, Original Hybrid product page, supplier statements and prices
- Hamuq, return policy, 120 night trial
- Endy, home page, Canadian-made and facilities in Ontario and Quebec
- Casper Canada, The Casper Mattress original bed in a box, made in Canada statement, August 10, 2026
- Silk & Snow, Hybrid mattress page, Made in Canada and queen prices
- GoodMorning, made in Canada page, Douglas, Logan & Cove, Juno and Octave statement
- Douglas, Original mattress, prices
- Douglas, Summit Hybrid mattress, prices
- Juno, made in Canada page
- Logan & Cove, home page, Made in Canada
- Polysleep, made in Canada page, Montreal facility
- Haven Sleep Co., home page, built in Toronto or Calgary
- Dozy, Toronto page, made in Toronto
- Mr. Mattress, locally made mattresses and Restwell in Surrey
- Nature's Embrace, made in Metro Vancouver
- Tempur-Pedic Canada, home page, assembled in Canada statement
- Emma Canada, about page, Frankfurt origin
- Purple, Canadian home page, no origin statement read
- Nectar Canada, home page, no origin statement read
- Sealy Canada, home page, no origin statement read
- Serta Canada, home page, no origin statement read
- Beautyrest Canada, home page, no origin statement read
- IKEA Canada, mattress category, no origin statement read
- Hush, about page, no origin statement read
- Polysleep, Sierra mattress, price
- Endy, mattress product page, price and trial wording
- Endy, Canadian refund policy, 100 night trial
- Casper Canada, mattress listing page
- Google Search results shown to a Canadian searcher for "what mattresses are made in canada", "are casper mattresses made in canada", "are endy mattresses made in canada" and "is emma mattress made in canada", September 27, 2026, used for the People Also Ask questions
